1xbet ROW

Rajasthan Royals Team IPL 2022 2022

Get all information about RR in IPL 2022 including complete squad, players list, matches schedule, latest news and predictions.

Rajasthan RoyalsRajasthan Royals (RR)

Rajasthan Royals is based in Jaipur, Rajasthan and they won the first edition of IPL in 2008 under the captaincy of Shane Warne. The Royals have been struggling to find another title since then and have made a lot of changes over the years.

They were also part of the 2-year ban along with Chennai Super Kings during 2016-2017 edition due to IPL betting scam.

Just before the 2021 IPL edition, Rajasthan released the captain Steve Smith and appointed Sanju Samson as the captain who will lead the team in the 2022 season as well.

After winning the first ever IPL in 2008, Rajasthan Royals have regularly underperformed in subsequent seasons. They finished seventh in 2019, eighth in 2020 and seventh in 2021.

Rajasthan Royals Team Information

Full Name Rajasthan Royals
Short Name RR
Founded 2008
Owners Manoj Badale (Emerging Media) (65%), Lachlan Murdoch (13%), RedBird Capital Partners (15%)
Official Website https://rajasthanroyals.com/
Captain Sanju Samson
Head Coach Trevor Penney
Home Ground Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur
Best Performance In IPL Champions (2008)
Team Information

RR Team Information

Sanju Samson will lead a much-changed franchise in 2022. He was the only consistent performer for Rajasthan Royals during last season’s campaign.

The team will be coached by Kumar Sangakkara for the second successive season with an improvement on the finishing position imperative.

In recent seasons, Rajasthan Royals have had a strong English contingent. However, this year Jos Buttler will be the only Englishman in the squad.

Squad changes

RR Squad changes

Only Sanju Samson scored more than 260 runs for Rajasthan Royals in the tournament last season. The signings of Karun Nair, Shimron Hetmyer and Rassie van der Dussen will be expected to all contribute big numbers.

A full season of Jos Buttler should produce some match-winning performances. Alongside Samson and Yashasvi Jaiswal, Buttler is the third retained player in the squad.

Rajasthan Royals have invested in players from T20 World Cup Runners-Up New Zealand. The trio of Jimmy Neesham, Daryl Mitchell and Trent Boult all have excellent records in this format.

RR team key players

  • Captain Sanju Samson: The skipper produced his third IPL century in 2021 and also recorded his highest total of 484 IPL runs. With players leaving the franchise throughout the season, it was a very tough job to lead the constantly changing XI. We expect to see less squad movement but more runs from Samson this year.

  • Jos Buttler: The English keeper-batter looks set for a full IPL season with his Test career seemingly on the back-burner. He scored his first century in the competition last year and will be a crucial player for the Royals in 2022.

  • Trent Boult: The New Zealand left-arm paceman was another player who failed to reach the same high standards in 2021 that he had set in 2020. We expect a change of team will benefit the likeable opening bowler who took 25 wickets at 18.25 in 2020

  • Yuzvendra Chahal: The right-arm spinner has an excellent IPL record and is a fantastic new signing for Rajasthan Royals. He sits in ninth position with the second best average on the all-time IPL wicket takers list.

IPL 2022 RR Team Squad

Batsmen Yashasvi Jaiswal, Karun Nair, Shimron Hetmyer, Rassie van der Dussen, Devdutt Padikkal
All Rounders Riyan Parag, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jimmy Neesham, Daryl Mitchell, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shubham Garhwal, Anunay Singh
Bowlers Yuzvendra Chahal, K.C.Cariappa, Tejas Baroka, Kuldeep Sen, Kuldip Yadav, Obed McCoy, Navdeep Saini, Prasidh Krishna, Trent Boult
Wicket-keepers Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, Dhruv Jurel

Rajasthan Royals Retained Players 2022

Sanju Samson Rs 14 Crore, Jos Buttler Rs 10 Crore, Yashasvi Jaiswal Rs 4 Crore

Rajasthan Royals Players IPL 2022

Karun Nair Rs 1.4 Crore, Shimron Hetmyer Rs 8.5 Crore, Rassie van der Dussen Rs 1 Crore, Devdutt Padikkal Rs 7.75 Crore, Rs iyan Parag Rs 3.8 Crore, Nathan Coulter-Nile Rs 2 Crore, Jimmy Neesham Rs 1.5 Crore, Daryl Mitchell Rs 75 Lakh, Ravichandran Ashwin Rs 5 Crore, Shubham Garhwal Rs 20 Lakh, Anunay Singh Rs 20 Lakh, Yuzvendra Chahal Rs 6.5 Crore, K.C.Cariappa Rs 30 Lakh, Tejas Baroka Rs 20 Lakh, Kuldeep Sen Rs 20 Lakh, Kuldip Yadav Rs 20 Lakh, Obed McCoy Rs 75 Lakh, Navdeep Saini Rs 2.6 Crore, Prasidh Krishna Rs 10 Crore, Trent Boult Rs 8 Crore, Dhruv Jurel Rs 20 Lakh

Expert Prediction

Expert Prediction for RR

We Predict RR to Finish at Eighth Position

Although a top four finish is probably out of reach, we expect the Royals to be in a group of teams vying for a top half spot. It will be very tight and an extra win could be the difference between fifth and ninth.

A lot will depend on the form of Jos Buttler. If Rajasthan Royals are over-reliant on the runs of Sanju Samson again then they will be fighting at the wrong end of the table.

Can RR Win IPL 2022?

Scoring enough runs seems to be the main reason for the bookies offering longish odds for the Royals. They have some real match-winners so the odds could be seen as value for some. Betway and Bet365 are both offering 9.00 for a Rajasthan Royals IPL win in 2022.

RR Match Schedule IPL 2022

Date Match Time (IST) Venue
March 29, 2022 Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan Royals 19:30 MCA Stadium, Pune
April 2, 2022 Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals 15:30 DY Patil Stadium
April 5, 2022 Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore 19:30 Wankhede Stadium
April 10, 2022 Rajasthan Royals vs Lucknow Super Giants 19:30 Wankhede Stadium
April 14, 2022 Rajasthan Royals vs Gujarat Titans 19:30 DY Patil Stadium
April 18, 2022 Rajasthan Royals vs Kolkata Knight Riders 19:30 Brabourne – CCI
April 22, 2022 Delhi Capitals vs Rajasthan Royals 19:30 MCA Stadium, Pune
April 26, 2022 Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Rajasthan Royals 19:30 MCA Stadium, Pune
April 30, 2022 Rajasthan Royals vs Mumbai Indians 19:30 DY Patil Stadium
May 2, 2022 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals 19:30 Wankhede Stadium
May 7, 2022 Punjab Kings vs Rajasthan Royals 15:30 Wankhede Stadium
May 11, 2022 Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Capitals 19:30 DY Patil Stadium
May 15, 2022 Lucknow Super Giants vs Rajasthan Royals 19:30 Brabourne – CCI
May 20, 2022 Rajasthan Royals vs Chennai Super Kings 19:30 Brabourne – CCI